Pudding, soup, and my cat

I was just looking through the pictures on my camera to see if I had anything I could blog about, and found some pictures of the cauliflower soup I made last night. I have NO memory of taking these, and actually have a very clear memory of deciding not to bother because I wasn’t feeling very good about the world. But I guess I did.

I hate how my stove doesn’t have a clock.

I also found a lot of pictures of my cat.

Anyway, the title of this post alludes to various experiences I had with Smitten Kitchen this weekend. I have a love-hate relationship with her; on the one hand, whenever I want to cook anything, I go to her website, but on the other hand she’s so happy I hate reading her blog. (I hope and assume she will never read this.) (“Happy” isn’t usually the word I use.)

On Saturday night I made her chocolate pudding—no pictures because it came out so terribly and I wasn’t at home. I don’t know what went wrong, but it never thickened, and ended up looking like hot chocolate with bits of unmelted chocolate and LUMPS OF CORNSTARCH. Just fyi, a lump of cornstarch is the devil incarnate. My friend said it was the worst thing I had ever cooked.

Then last night I made her cauliflower soup, in keeping with my Sunday immersion-blender soup tradition. It was really good when I tasted it last night, which confused me because all it contained was onion, garlic, cauliflower, parmesan cheese, and chicken broth, and I wasn’t aware that I liked cauliflower. But I was pleased with how it came out.

Today I started eating it at lunch, and it sort of tasted like the tears of tortured chickens.

(This is because I made it with chicken bouillon cubes. I am transitioning to a vegetarian kitchen, and the only thing standing between me and kitchen-vegetarianism is twenty-two bouillon cubes.)

I mean, it was still pretty good. But Jesus Christ, where do they get the chickens for chicken bouillon cubes??? I checked the ingredients and they *do* contain chicken product, which made me feel worse about the whole thing.

Here’s a picture of my cat.

Mr. Fitzpatrick Bubbles, Esq.

Good night.

3 thoughts on “Pudding, soup, and my cat

  1. I didn’t know you were going back to vegetarianism! Or is it just vegetarian kitchen? Also should I stop buying chicken bouillon cubes?? Either way, the soup sounds yummy but I feel like if I’m ever going to try anything from your blog I will have to get an immersion blender. Are they paying you to advertise? 🙂

    Fitzgerald is extremely cute.

  2. Onion soup! I made onion soup (with toasty cheese croutons people could add if they wanted) and it was quite good, no immersion necessary, and can be made with vegetable stock (though I didn’t check to verify that my stock didn’t have stock, and lo and behold, the soup was quite salty when I was done. Curse you, Rachael Ray). On the minus (or maybe plus?) side, it requires you to finish the wine you used to make the soup relatively quickly.

Leave a Reply

